Co-Lin Libraries: Library Policies

LEARNING RESOURCES (ALL CAMPUSES)

Copiah-Lincoln Community College Libraries promote educational excellence by providing information access to the students, faculty, and staff in both traditional and online courses. Facilities located on each campus (the Evelyn W. Oswalt Library – Wesson Campus; the Willie Mae Dunn Library – Natchez Campus; and the Fred and Jewett Taylor Library – Simpson County Center) house a variety of materials to support the curricula of the college and academic freedom.

The district-wide collection encompasses print, non-print, and electronic resources. Online resources such as Mississippi Alliance for Gaining New Opportunities Through Library Information Access (MAGNOLIA), and Mississippi Electronic Libraries Online (MELO) consortiums provide patrons universal access twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week. Additionally, interlibrary loan services (resource sharing with other libraries) are available. Computers are also available in each library for patrons to use.

 In an effort to promote information literacy, librarians, and library paraprofessionals are available to provide formal and informal instructions on the use of library resources. Library hours of service, contact information, and library policies are available on the library website.

Library Mission  

The mission of the Copiah-Lincoln Community College Libraries is to provide the College community with access to appropriate information that supports the curriculum of the College. The libraries build and maintain collections and services to meet the curriculum needs of the students and faculty. The libraries do this by acquiring and organizing resources, providing direct as well as mediated access to information, participating in cooperative programs with other libraries, and teaching users to locate, obtain, and evaluate information. Each library works with the College administration and faculty in the development of information policy for the campus. As a service unit within a regional, state-supported two-year college, the libraries offer the surrounding community access to needed informational resources and services. 

Library Service Hours

Oswalt Library, Wesson Campus

Fall and Spring:          Sunday 5:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.

Monday - Thursday 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.

Friday 7:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

Summer:                     Monday - Wednesday 7:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Thursday 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.

Friday 7:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

Willie Mae Dunn Library, Natchez Campus

 Fall and Spring:         Monday - Wednesday 7:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Thursday 7:30 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.

Friday 7:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

Summer:                     Monday – Thursday 7:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Friday 7:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

Taylor Library, Simpson County Center

Fall and Spring:          Monday, Wednesday and Thursday 7:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Tuesday 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.

Friday 7:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

Summer:                     Monday – Thursday 7:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Friday 7:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

Group Study Rooms

Group study rooms are available for collaborative work and research activities. All rooms are available on a “first come, first served” basis. Student conduct and food policies will be enforced.

Borrower Information/Use of Resources

1. Students are required to have their ID card to check out books or use materials on reserve.
2. Students may have up to ten (10) books checked out at one time.
3. The normal loan period is two (2) weeks. The loan period will be shortened at the end of each semester.
4. Generally, magazines and reference books are for library use only.
5. When books become due, they may be returned or renewed. Overdue notices are e-mailed to the student periodically.
6. Students are responsible for any lost or damaged items checked out to them.
7. All books must be returned with any fines or fees paid by the end of each semester. Library borrowing privileges of students with overdue items or fines will be suspended and a hold will be placed on the student’s record. The hold will need to be cleared for registration and transcript requests.

Fines/Fees

• Fines are charged for overdue books at a rate of $.25 per day.
• No fines are charged for weekends or times when the library is closed.
•  A maximum of $10.00 per book is charged for overdue fines.
• All library materials must be returned in good condition.
• If items are lost or damaged, accounts will be assessed a replacement/processing fee of $5.00 in addition to the cost of the item.
• Once the item is declared lost or damaged and payment is received, accumulated fines will be waived.
• Charges are non-refundable once the library material is paid for.
• Photocopy and computer printing service is available at each Co-Lin library. Photocopies are $.20 per page. Notice: The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, U.S. Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Persons using library equipment such as computers, printers, scanners, and any other equipment that is capable of making copies are responsible for any infringement.
• Computer printing is $.10 per page. Students receive a 200-page printing block each semester. Students and non-students needing additional printing access may purchase a print account at the business office. The accounts are obtainable in $5.00 increments.
• Color printing is available at the Wesson Campus library with staff assistance for $.40 per page.

Security Of Library Materials

§ 39-3-303. Unauthorized removal or willful mutilation of library materials

1. It shall be unlawful for any person to remove library materials, without authorization, from the premises wherein such materials are maintained or to retain possession of library materials without authorization.
2. It shall be unlawful for any person to willfully mutilate library materials.           SOURCES: Laws, 1978, ch. 418, § 2, eff from and after July 1, 1978. Miss. Code Ann. § 39-3-303 (Lexis Advance through the 2017 Regular and 1st Extraordinary Sessions) § 39-3-309. Penalties for violations of § 39-3-303

Any person who violates the provisions of section 39-3-303 is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine not to exceed five hundred dollars ($ 500.00) or by imprisonment in the county jail not to exceed six (6) months, or by both such fine and imprisonment. SOURCES: Laws, 1978, ch. 418, § 5, eff from and after July 1, 1978.

Miss. Code Ann. § 39-3-309 (Lexis Advance through the 2017 Regular and 1st Extraordinary Sessions)

Computer Guidelines

Authorized Users. Authorized users of computers are Co-Lin students, faculty, staff, alumni of the college, and registered community patrons. Students have access to library computers by using the logon provided by the college. First time non-student computer users must register at the library’s circulation desk.

Limited Use. Time restrictions may apply when computer seating is limited. Priority will be given to students with educational research needs.

Appropriate Use. Computers in the library are designated for educational purposes in accordance with support of instructional activities, support of independent study and research, pursuit of educational information via the Internet, library databases, and other electronic resources.

Violation of the Computer Use Policy. No individual shall access, use, destroy, alter, dismantle, disfigure, or remove programs, technologies, or configurations/settings from any computer. Any patron found using resources that have not been previously approved for use on the library computers or found tampering with any installed programs or settings of the hardware will be barred from using the equipment. The use of Co-Lin’s technology resources to violate the privacy of any individual is prohibited. Consequently, the college’s Technology Policy and Procedures found in this handbook apply to all users of computers in the library.

Abusers of computers and/or violators of the college’s policies on the use of technology resources may result in disciplinary action by the college including but not limited to revoking of computer privileges, expulsion from school, and/or referral to the appropriate law enforcement agency.

Conduct

The atmosphere of the library should be one conducive to learning in an academic setting. All patrons are expected to participate in creating and maintaining an environment advantageous to study and research.

1. Students making excessive noise will be asked to leave the building.
2. Talking on cell phones is prohibited in the library. Cell phones may be used for other purposes as long as the student is not engaged in taking a test and the phone cannot be heard by others. Headsets are required with all sound electronic devices. The volume on the headset must be set so that it does not disturb nearby patrons.

Disciplinary Action.

Violation of library conduct policies may result in the following action:

• First Offense—Verbal warning
• Second Offense—Verbal warning--request for student ID
• Third Offense—Student requested to leave the library

In extenuating circumstances, Campus Police and the Dean of Students will be notified, which may result in further disciplinary action.

Food And Drink

No food is allowed in the library. With the exception of the copy machine area and the stacks, beverages in spill-resistant containers are allowed in most areas of the library. Beverages should not damage library material, equipment, or furnishings. Patrons are asked to dispose of all trash properly.

Copiah-Lincoln Community Libraries

Collection Development Policy

I. Purpose

The purpose of the collection is to support the mission of Copiah-Lincoln Community College (Co-Lin) by serving the educational, informational, cultural, developmental, and recreational needs of students, faculty, staff, and community patrons. The primary focus of the collection is curriculum support for the courses offered at Copiah-Lincoln Community College. A secondary focus of the collection is to provide materials of a cultural or recreational nature that enrich the lives of students, faculty, staff, and other library patrons.

II. Patrons Served

The Copiah-Lincoln Community College Libraries serve the students, faculty, and staff of the college as well as members of the local communities surrounding each campus location.  

III. Collection Priorities

• To serve the educational needs of students enrolled in the instructional programs of the college.
• To support the instructional needs of faculty, administration, and staff.
• To provide a small collection of popular, general interest materials that appeal to students, faculty, staff, and community patrons.

IV. Selection Responsibilities and Criteria

The professional librarians on staff, aided by input from faculty, make all selection decisions using the following selection criteria:

1. The item supports one or more of the courses of study offered at the college.
2. The item was requested by classroom faculty to meet a specific need in one or more courses.
3. The item fills a gap in the collection indicated by a lack of materials in a particular subject area.
4. The author of the item has an established reputation in the subject area.
5. The item is included in recommended title lists, subject bibliographies, review publications, and other standard collection development tools.
6. The item has received positive reviews in standard selection periodicals or resources.
7. The item is published by a reputable publisher.
8. The item provides current information, especially in critical areas such as medicine, nursing, allied health, science, etc.
1. The item is appropriate in terms of subject matter and reading levels for a college-level audience.
10. The item has substantial literary merit, and/or cultural, historical, scientific, or scholarly significance.
11. The item is a timeless “classic” in the field, subject area, or genre.
12. The item has lasting significance.
13. The item contributes to ensuring that all points of view are represented in the collection and that the collection adheres to the Library Bill of Rights.
14. The item contributes to ensuring that the collection promotes diversity, equity, and inclusion.  
15. The item is a high-demand, popular fiction or nonfiction title that has received favorable reviews and/or has spent considerable time on bestseller lists such as The New York Times, Publishers Weekly, Amazon, etc.
16. The item meets increased demand for a given subject or title indicated by multiple student/patron requests.
17. The item is replacing a lost or damaged copy that is needed in the collection.
18. The item is of a suitable format.
19. The item has an acceptable price that fits into the book budget.

  

V. Formats and Types of Resources

• The Co-Lin Libraries collect materials in a variety of formats including print books, eBooks, audiobooks, DVDs, streaming videos, journals, newspapers, online databases, archival materials, etc.
• Most of the selection decisions based on the selection criteria outlined in this Collection Development Policy pertain to print books and eBooks; however, most eBooks in the collection are provided by databases and consortia such as EBSCOhost, MAGNOLIA, etc.
• The Co-Lin Libraries subscribe to the OverDrive platform, but the focus of this eBook and audiobook collection is popular, general interest fiction and nonfiction titles rather than curriculum support.
• Most of the eBooks that support the curriculum are provided by databases such as EBSCOhost’s eBook Academic Collection, eBook Community College Collection, and so on.
• Because the Libraries have access to a large number of eBooks through various databases provided by consortia, and because spending priorities have shifted from print books to online resources, the Libraries must be much more selective in purchasing print books for the collection. Collection efforts for print books focus on the following selection criteria:
  • The item was requested by classroom faculty to meet a specific need in one or more courses.
  • The item has substantial literary merit, and/or cultural, historical, scientific, or scholarly significance.
  • The item is a timeless “classic” in the field, subject area, or genre.
  • The item is a high-demand, popular fiction or nonfiction title that has received favorable reviews and/or has spent considerable time on bestseller lists such as The New York Times, Publishers Weekly, Amazon, etc.
  • The item meets increased demand for a given subject or title indicated by multiple student/patron requests.
• Hardbound editions are the preferred format for books because of their durability and longevity, but trade paperbacks are acceptable if they are covered with a suitable cover such as Kapco, and a suitable hardback is not available.
• Most of the databases and other online resources are provided by MELO (Mississippi Electronic Libraries Online) and/or MAGNOLIA (Mississippi Alliance for Gaining New Opportunities Through Library Information Access). Other databases not covered by MELO or MAGNOLIA will be considered for inclusion in the collection if they are needed to meet the research needs of particular courses or programs and they meet the following criteria:
  • The resource is from a reputable publisher or vendor.
  • The resource is appropriate for a college-level audience. 
  • The resource provides reliable, timely information from credible sources that supports the research needs of on or more courses or programs.
  • The resource fills a gap in the collection not covered by any of the resources provided by consortia.
  • The price of the resource fits into the budget.
  • The resource is accessible and easy to use for students and other users. 
• Each campus library has a small collection of videos, which consist mostly of DVDs for classroom use by instructors. Individual video purchases are mainly made to fill requests from instructors. The libraries have access to an extensive collection of educational video titles from Films on Demand, which is provided by the MELO consortium. For these reasons and because current technology is transitioning from physical formats such as DVDs to streaming video, the Libraries do not actively collect DVDs unless a requested or needed video title is available only in DVD format.
• There are a small number of physical audiobooks in the collection, but the Co-Lin Libraries do not actively purchase physical audiobooks. New audiobook purchases are in a digital format on the OverDrive/Libby platform. 
• Because the purpose of the Co-Lin Libraries’ collection is to support and supplement instructional materials used in the classroom, in general, the libraries do not purchase current textbooks used in courses of study at the college. However, instructors may place supplemental materials on reserve in the library for students to use for their classes.   
• The libraries generally do not purchase many reference materials or maintain extensive reference collections because most of the information traditionally found in these sources, which have high costs and become outdated quickly, can easily be found online and in various databases.
• Because there is little demand for print periodicals among library users, and because the libraries subscribe to online databases that provide access to thousands of full-text academic journals and popular magazines, none of the campus libraries keep large collections of print journals or magazines.
• A small collection of local and national newspapers is maintained at each campus library, depending on need and available funds.

VI. Intellectual Freedom

• The Copiah-Lincoln Community College Libraries adhere to the Library Bill of Rights when making selection decisions. This ensures that the collection meets the needs of all users regardless of age, race, national origin, religion, political/social views, gender, sexual orientation, etc.
• The pursuit of knowledge requires that all viewpoints on various issues and topics be represented in the collection. For this reason, no materials will be excluded based on the views, opinions, or background of its creators.

In the interest of intellectual freedom, the Co-Lin Libraries are opposed to censorship of library materials. Presenting all viewpoints necessarily entails including materials that some individuals or groups might find offensive; however, the Copiah-Community College Libraries will not exclude such materials if they contribute to the pursuit of knowledge; advance a comprehensive understanding of all sides of issues; possess artistic, literary, cultural, historical, or scholarly merit; and meet one or more of the selection criteria.

VII. Archives

The Oswalt Library on the Wesson Campus houses the Co-Lin Archive, which contains yearbooks, catalogs, student handbooks, President’s Reports, The Colinian alumni publication, athletics information, photographs, memorabilia, publicity, graduation programs, historical documents, student publications, and other documents and materials related to Copiah-Lincoln Community College and its history.  The District Director of Learning Resources is responsible for collecting, cataloging, and adding relevant materials to the Archives. The District Director also serves as Chairman of the Archives Committee. Also, each campus library maintains a small archive of materials – photographs, publicity, memorabilia, graduation programs, documents, etc. – related to its respective campus.  In addition to the physical Archives, the Co-Lin Libraries maintain an online Archive of select archival resources. The online Archive, which is accessible on the libraries’ website, is maintained by the District Director of Learning Resources, who is responsible for digitizing and uploading materials to it.

VIII. Gifts

The libraries accept donated materials, and the same selection criteria used for purchased items are used to determine whether to add donated items to the collection. Each library reserves the right to refuse donations and to dispose of items that are not needed or suitable for inclusion in the collection. The library is not responsible for estimating or determining the value of donated items for tax purposes. This is the sole responsibility of donors.

IX. Faculty Input/Patron Requests

• The District Director of Learning Resources is a department chair and attends the monthly Faculty Department Chair meetings. The Director routinely solicits materials requests from the faculty department chairs on behalf of the faculty in their departments.
• Each fall, campus librarians solicit requests from the faulty at their campuses.
• The Co-Lin Libraries website features request forms for both faculty and student/patron requests.
• Each year the libraries send out satisfaction surveys to students, faculty, and staff, and the survey asks for feedback and suggestions regarding the types of materials offered in the collection.  

X. Deselection and Weeding

The Co-Lin Libraries endeavor to maintain an up-to-date, vital, and relevant collection of materials to appeal to all users and to meet their various needs. To this end, the libraries routinely deselect outdated, obsolete, inaccurate, unused, or damaged materials to make room for more suitable and worthwhile selections.  Items will be weeded from the collection for the following reasons:

• The item has outdated information.
• The item is obsolete.
• The item has very little demand or potential for use.
• The item has inaccurate information.
• The item has been superseded by a newer edition.
• The item no longer supports the mission or curriculum of Copiah-Lincoln Community College.
• The item is in poor condition and is beyond repair.
• The item has multiple copies that are no longer needed.